Annual Lighted Boat Parade

The Port of Dubuque Marina's Annual Lighted Boat Parade began in 2014 and has been a successful and widely attended community event each year.  25 - 35 boats will decorate along a common theme and gather inside the Port of Dubuque Ice Harbor on the first Saturday of August.  A free musical performance on the National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium plaza precedes the parade.  At dusk boats will depart the marina and parade along Dubuque's Mississippi Riverwalk.  Spectators are encouraged to help a panel of judges select the most impressive boats in the parade.  Past years winners are listed below.

Lighted Boat Parade Winners

2016 – Holiday in August

33 feet and over:

  1. Bob & Kay Vonderhaar, Silverton, Santa Fishing
  2. Dick & Lynne Fricke, The Last Fudd?, 4th of July
  3. Mona Woodward & George Doremus, The Y-Knot, National Lampoons Christmas

32 feet and under:

  1. Dale & Rita Baumhover, Survivor
  2. Ron & Sue Tigges, Always Suesday
  3. Rob & Monica Friedman

2015 – Island Time

  1. Rick & Dianne Ackley, Pop’s Pad
  2. Bob & Kay Vonderhaar, Silverton
  3. Bob & Cathy Knopp, the Very Dry
  4. Mona Woodward & George Doremus, The Y-Knot

2014 – Casino Night

  1. Bob & Cathy Knopp, the Very Dry, High Rollers.
  2. Dale & Rita Baumhover, Survivor, D & R Casino
  3. Scott Deutmeyer, Bottom’s Up
  4. Ed Pas, Pasitivaly
Garth Fuerste Photography Boat Parade
Parade Jam
Riverwalk Viewers