Amy Scheller

Fire / Rescue
Title: Fire Chief
Phone: 563.589.4160

Amy Scheller

Amy Scheller was sworn in as Dubuque's Fire Chief on June 6,2022.  

Scheller has 30 years of firefighter and paramedic experience and previously was member of the Naperville, Illinois, Fire Department since 1998. She worked her way up through the organization, supervising and managing all areas of the fire department operations and administrative divisions. Scheller was the department’s deputy chief of administrative and strategic planning from 2019-2022 and reported directly to the fire chief and supervised the department’s division chief of operations, division chief of emergency medical services, division chief of training, division chief of support services, and the department emergency operations manager.  

She previously served as the Naperville Fire Department’s division chief of operations (2016-2019), bureau chief for support services (2015-2016), bureau chief for emergency medical services (2014-2015), lieutenant (2010-2014), acting fire lieutenant (2008-2010), and firefighter/paramedic (1998-2010).  She was a member of the Montgomery, Ill., Fire Department from 1992-2001 where she began as a paid-on-call firefighter/paramedic. 

Her management experience includes strategic planning, standard of response coverage, annual reporting, incident management, emergency operations, grant writing and management, payroll, budget and capital improvement planning, vehicle services, dispatch liaison, labor negotiations, policy development, mentoring, and succession planning. 

Scheller is a graduate of the National Fire Academy’s Executive Fire Officer Program and holds a master’s degree in public safety administration from Lewis University and a bachelor’s degree in education from Aurora University.  She is a member of the International Association of Fire Chiefs, through which she attained the Executive Chief Officer and Chief Fire Officer status, and the Illinois Fire Chiefs Association. She achieved the Chief Fire Officer designation and Fire Officer designation through the Center for Public Safety Excellence.  


Return to Staff Directory