Dornbirn, Austria

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Photos courtesy of Dornbirn Tourismus & Stadtmarketing GmbH. 

Sister City Since 2012

Dornbirn is the largest city in the Austrian State of Vorarlberg. Dornbirn benefits from its location among diverse cultural and natural settings in the four-country areas of Austria, the Principality of Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Germany. Over 200 families from Dornbirn immigrated to Dubuque in the 1800s, and many Dubuque landmarks have Austrian connections. 

Dornbirn and Dubuque officially became sister cities in 2012 during a Dubuque delegation visit to Dornbirn. Proclamations in English and in German officially designating Dubuque and Dornbirn as sister cities were signed by Dubuque Mayor Roy Buol and Dornbirn Mayor Wolfgang Rummele at a formal ceremony on Oct. 24, 2012 at the Dornbirn Town Hall. Read an article published in the December 2012 edition of Julien's Journal regarding the Dubuque Delegation's visit to Dornbirn in October 2012.

Learn more about Dornbirn